Sing, oh!

Tomorrow shall be my dancing day;
I would my true love did so chance
To see the legend of my play,
To call my true love to my dance;

Sing, oh! my love, oh! my love, my love, my love,
This have I done for my true love.

Then was I born of a virgin pure,
Of her I took fleshly substance
Thus was I knit to man’s nature
To call my true love to my dance.

In a manger laid, and wrapped I was
So very poor, this was my chance
Betwixt an ox and a silly poor ass
To call my true love to my dance.

Sing, oh! my love, oh! my love, my love, my love,
This have I done for my true love.

Traditional English Carol
Go here to hear it sung by a choir at King’s College, Cambridge.
The picture is by Arthur Rackham.

7 Comments

Filed under Art, Music, Poetry

7 responses to “Sing, oh!

  1. Stunning photo. I’m absolutely captivated.

  2. amy

    i would love to hear it sung. what a beautiful picture, too!

  3. Rachel Marohn

    Lovely song. Wishing you a merry Christmas! I had sent you an online card, but the email I have for you is old! God bless you all!

  4. Have I ever mentioned how much I like your blog? Well, just in case- I do. 🙂 Merry Christmas, my favorite friend. And if you need a spot to stay on your journey to TN, do drop by and have some TX fun 🙂
    Love you,
    Annie

  5. I love this Christmas carol! It’s on the Christmas Night Carols of the Nativity CD by the Cambridge Singers. If you don’t already own it, I highly recommend it. Simply gorgeous music!

  6. Cheryl Hollifield

    I get it…. I read it and didn’t quite get the gist of the song. Then this morning I listened to the music and read the words, and oh how my soul came alive with love for Him who came in flesh!!

    Thank you Sarah for helping awaken this mothers’ soul… Hugs! Hope to see you in March!

    -Cheryl Hollifield

    P.S. I am so enjoying your lovely book!!!

  7. Pingback: Dancing Day

Leave a Reply

