Book special for Christmas!

Happy Thanksgiving Monday!

I have to start by thanking you all so very much for your lovely comments of congratulation on my book publication a couple of weeks ago. I am most encouraged. You’re kind comments are so heartening! I love having friends to share the festivities of book release celebrations.

Which brings me to the festivity bit. Seeing as Read for the Heart is coming out at Christmas and all, I decided its only fitting to offer it at a Christmas special. So, if you happen to know anyone who would enjoy a foray into the world of literature, then hop on over to the Storyformed Project and get them a signed copy of my book. Your brand spanking new, hot-off-the-press first edition of the book will also come with a lovely Christmas card and a printed quote on the glories of reading, just for fun.

This is also my chance to very informally introduce you to the new site I’ll be running. I’ll still be posting here, but I’m setting up a sort of online literary world over at a new blog site called The Storyformed Project. It will be an ongoing blog conversation on books old and new (and for young and old), writing, words, anything literary at all. There will be reviews, quotes, research, links, and all things literary I can imagine.Β  It will also be the hub of the speaking, teaching (creative-writing, English, and “Inklings” classes), and literary tours (dates posted soon!) I’ll be doing. I’m excited. It’s sort of like creating a virtual old English library where anyone can stop in for tea. I’m having a ball. It will all be redesigned quite soon (oh yes, I’m going to be all professional about this and actually get someone to help me frame in that tricky code) but the site address will remain the same.

Last but not least, if you live in Colorado, my mom and I are hosting several Christmas literary events where there will be talks on reading, Christmas book recommendations, readings of favorite stories, and of course, hot tea and toffee pudding. If you are interested in attending, email me at itinerantidealist@gmail.com, and I’ll whiz the details your way.

Have a beautiful Thanksgiving my friends!

13 Comments

Filed under Books

13 responses to “Book special for Christmas!

  1. Oh, it is so tempting to make another 1,000 trip… west this time. πŸ™‚

  2. northwoodsnomad

    I’ve already placed my order! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to read it!

  3. sarah…i first “heard your voice” over at the rabbit room, and i was completely in tune with what you were saying. i popped over here and found your heartbeat to be similar to mine.

    i, too, live immersed in story and long for my girls to do the same. i am always on the lookout for good lists of good books by good readers, and yours book looks absolutely wonderful! i just ordered it and am excited to spend time with it.

    thank you for pursuing your passion in this way and for sharing it with us:)

    look forward to lingering here as well!

  4. Susan

    It all sounds wonderful!! πŸ™‚

    Susan

  5. Ashley

    Sarah,
    Congratulations on your long-awaited treasure, the publishing of your book! I, too, have been anticipating the new arrival of Read for your Heart and am so glad it is just around the corner. I pray the work of your hands, heart and mind will be used mightily by God in awakening the hearts of His people to the wonder, splendor and majesty of all that He is.

    Your mom mentioned you may be doing book tours. We would be interested in this in Lubbock. Could you please email me some information on your tours. I appreciate it.
    Blessings, Ashley in Texas

  6. Congratulations!

    I can’t wait to hold your book — and wholeheartedly feed curious young minds here!

    Every, every blessing…

    All’s grace,
    Ann Voskamp

  7. “Congratulations” just isn’t big enough a word for everything I want to say! What an accomplishment! One of many, I have NO doubt. I’ve already ordered and can’t wait to dive in. I’m so happy and excited for you, Sarah. Good for you!

  8. Lynn

    Hi Sarah,

    Congratulations on your new book, I’m excited to get my hands on a copy. I have a question for you about the literary events you mentioned. For those of us not in Colorado, I was wondering if it might be possible to do a blog post or series of posts that would pretty much highlight the content of those events, especially the Christmas book recommendations? It would be awesome to be able to ‘join in’ even if we’re hundreds of miles away. πŸ™‚

  9. Oh, I can’t wait to get mine! Thank you for offering it on special. Congratulations on what must be an exciting time for you! I will enjoy Storyformed…have it bookmarked =)

  10. Christy Neal

    Hey Sarah,
    Congrats on the new book…can’t wait to read. What a fun Christmas gift for myself!! As I home school my 2 children I find myself enjoying literature for the first time ever. I met you in Charlotte NC for the Wholehearted Mom Conference 2008, we had coffee with you, your mom and Lynn at Dean & Deluca.

    Thanks for sharing and I look forward to reading!
    Love, Christy (Raleigh, NC)

  11. Sarah,

    Where is the best place to buy your book? I prefer to buy from the outlet that gives the most back to the author.

  12. Bah, I’m a dork. I found the answer.

  13. Oh Sarah, dear. I am thrilled about your book – I can’t wait to read it!

    And your new literary site. “Magical” and “Wonderful” are the words that instantly come to mind. I’ve always wanted to visit a site like this. A place where a lover of good stories could take me by the hand and help me navigate the beauty.

    Blessings,
    -Breezy

Leave a Reply

