Good Sabbath

Lord, I bring you my treasure.

It is larger than the mountains, broader than the world, deeper than the sea, higher than the clouds, more lovely than the sun, more manifold than the stars; it weighs more than the whole earth.

Oh you, image of My godhead, made splendid by My humanity, adorned with My Holy Spirit- what is your treasure called?

Lord, it is called my heart’s desire. I have withdrawn it from the world, preserved it in myself, and denied it to all creatures. But I can bear it no further.

Lord. Where shall I lay it?

Mechthild of Magdeburg

Chill-October-L

1 Comment

Filed under Art, Quotes

One response to “Good Sabbath

  1. learningtofollow

    Oh, what a beautiful quote indeed!

Leave a Reply

