My book, oh my book

437021o

It’s almost here. I just had to tell you. It’s like my baby. Three more weeks and I’ll have it in my hands. I am speechless with thanks.

I have to admit, I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I sat down to write this. The urge to spontaneously jot down book lists for people has been with me since my teens; I’m that nose-in-a-book sort of girl. The original idea was a very intuitive one: “oh, I think I’ll write a book with all the lists of my favorites, and tell everyone why reading is the most delightful activity in the world.”

Well, it is. But now I have documented it, dated it, footnoted it, researched it, and laboriously listed out why. The sheer amount of details required to document each book mentioned is mind boggling! But it is done and the work and journey of the writing has been an education that has shoved me even farther down the literary road in my life. This is one of the things I want to give my life to. I want the whole world to love books. I want every child to be formed by stories. I want every person I can get my hands on to have their soul enlivened by the sorts of books that will help them to live an epic. I even want to give speeches about this, which, since I generally avoid speaking as if it were chickenpox, will tell you just how passionate this subject gets me.

So there you have it. If you live in the Colorado area, there are going to be several release parties/literary celebrations/Christmas book reading sorts of soirees in late November, early December. I’ll post dates soon. Have a beautiful day you all.

Oh, and while you’re at it… READ!

Update: I’m so bad at remembering details. Here’s the stuff I forgot that I really should have added. The publisher is Apologia Press. You can order the book at Apologia.com. (As soon as I have a specific link to my book, I’ll post it here.)

21 Comments

Filed under Books, Musings

21 responses to “My book, oh my book

  1. Jennifer A

    So exciting! I can’t wait to read it!

  2. JB

    Congratulations. What a great cover. Looks alluring. Hope you sell a million and create a wave-swelling influence to become people of story.

  3. Congratulations on this amazing accomplishment.

    Sigh… I miss seeing your lovely face and chatting together.

  4. That does look like a beautiful book. Where and when can I get a copy?

  5. I’m just as anxious to have it in my hands. I just ADORE a good read about good reads. You will join some “greats” upon my bookshelf. I applaud your accomplishment.

    Now I’m off to READ witha teacup companion.

    Happy Monday! : D

  6. Meg

    I’ll have to donate a copy to our library so many families can enjoy it. Congratulations!

  7. WOOHOO!! Congratulations!!!! I’m so proud of you!

  8. Andrea M

    I’m elated for you! Can’t wait to read it…

  9. I can’t wait!!! I have been checking around since Aug. to see when it was coming. I’m so excited!!

  10. Charlotte Fyshure

    Congrats! It sounds good!

  11. I can’t wait to read the book, Sarah! I dearly love books, even books about books–this will be a treasure!

  12. Ashley

    Dear Sarah,
    I have been excitedly watching for your book for several months. Ever since you shared your heart on reading two years ago in Dallas at the WWM Conference, I have been delving into the subject and reading with my heart. May God bless your labor of love that you poured into this treasure. And may He use it to open the eyes of all of our hearts to Him. Here is the link that I have been watching the past few months to see when your book is available. http://www.christianbook.com/Christian/Books/search?author=Sarah%20Clarkson&detailed_search=1&action=Search

    Blessings to you,
    Ashley in Texas

  13. Patty Yellis

    Oh Sarah. Finally. The book. It’s fall again.Remember to send a copy to that lady who gave you a tour of Kate’s house :).
    I had a dream about you and your mom last night. Somehow we were visiting at a conference. What a dream:)
    Thinking much of you lately. I really will be writing a real, to be held in your hands, letter soon.
    Patty (of the now short gray hair!)

  14. Sarah

    Thank you, thank you everyone! I’m on cloud nine. πŸ™‚

  15. Looking forward to this arriving in NZ;-)

  16. Wendy

    Oh how exciting! I can’t wait! Also, since you’re the reason I have Hannah Coulter sitting on my shelf (not read yet, but soon), I wanted to tell you that I picked up Andy Catlett yesterday on clearance at the Tattered Cover. AND I wanted to tell you I found Scott Sanders “A Private History of Awe”. It sounds interesting, but be sure to look at it on Amazon, and check out the back cover. πŸ™‚

  17. Sarah, I’m so excited for this to come out! I pre-ordered it a long time ago and am so thrilled it’ll be here soon! Congratulations on completing what is sure to be a wonderful book, and I hope it receives huge success!

  18. HveHope

    Sarah ~

    Yet ANOTHER of the wonderful reasons why I am so grateful to have moved here to the Denver area! πŸ™‚
    I noticed an allusion to The Tattered Cover in a comment above. Does that mean they will be part of your celebration?
    May I ‘second’ the comment that mentioned how fabulous it is to get information about BOOKS when one is addicted to them? (and baskets, and blankets, and bags, and ….). It is feeding, nourishing the inner sanctum (and extra special when one is homeschooling!).
    Yep, I’m thrilled for/with you.

    grateful for Him who is Rock, Fortress, and Might,
    HveHope

  19. Beth M

    YAY! The birth of this book has been long awaited by many, but especially you. Can’t wait to read it, and share it with so many moms wanting to nurture their children’s hearts with great books and stories.

  20. Marcia

    Sarah,

    I just found your website this morning through the blog of Dr. Eaton, president of Seattle Pacific University, and have spent the past hour leisurely wandering through its luscious “pages” instead of getting ready for work.

    When I entered SPU (at age 51) I intended to major in Theology. After one English class, though, I was hooked and never looked back after changing my major to English with a minor in Creative Writing.

    This morning on your website I had the same feeling I did in my English classes: I had connected with people like myself who love words and the people, ideas, beauty, life and God that they describe.

    After graduation when I was wondering what on earth I was going to do with an English degree, (anyone who listens to Garrison Keillor is chuckling at this point), an adjunct professor of Theology at SPU said to me, “Marcia, for centuries the priest was the source of truth in the culture. With the rise of science, the scientist became the priest of truth in the culture. But in this post-modern time, the artist is the priest of truth to the culture.”

    Thank you, Sarah, for answering the call to use your writing talent and love of God and beauty to tell of truth and hope in a culture that needs both.

    This morning you washed my dusty feet and reminded me that I have a call, too.

    I look forward to the release of your book.

    Marcia

Leave a Reply

