My October(ish) Book List

41WE9WP7VJL._SL160_Standing by Words by Wendell Berry

5121SFMB6QL._SL160_Lilith by George MacDonald

51EZB0CCM9L._SL160_A Circle of Quiet, by Madeleine L’Engle

510mY3IDrYL._SL160_Norton Anthology of Romantic Literature

51vj5AdpI7L._SL160_The Brontes: Charlotte Bronte and Her Family, by Rebecca Fraser

I’m looking for a novel to complete this. I’m vacillating between a good classic Dickens or Thomas Hardy, or maybe a more soulful Goudge, or perhaps something modern. We’ll see. What are you reading?

11 Comments

Filed under Books

11 responses to “My October(ish) Book List

  1. B.

    ‘A Time of Departing’ by Ray Yungen…… one of the most fascinating books I have ever read. I seldom recommend books strongly…. but this book is different, I think it is a must read for every Christian.

    ‘A Home at Greylock’ by Elizabeth Prentiss – makes me realize even more acutely how much times have changed…….

    ‘The God who Loves’ by John McArthur – another great, thought provoking book.

    I love reading!!! :o)

  2. “Fearless” by Max Lucado, “The Bronze Bow,” and I just finished reading “The Door in the Wall” to my oldest son. I’m tempted to read “Wuthering Heights” again just because it’s such a fall-ish book, too!

    Thanks for your book links; the one by L’Engle sounds good, as well as MacDonald’s! I love both authors but have read neither of those.

    Happy fall to you, Sarah!

  3. Ashley

    Hi Sarah,

    I am re-reading Jan Karon’s Mitford Series. I can’t stop. The simplicity, the profound truths in the common, the beauty from ashes, the good, pure and noble. Thank you for your book list. Have your read The Princess and the Goblin (McDonald)? It’s next on my list. Thank you, also, for your beautiful words in your posts. I can hear your heart in each of them. Looking forward to your book coming out in December ( I think this is right.)

    Blessings,
    Ashley in Texas

  4. Sunshine

    I am biting at the bit to get the book that is coming out in Dec. by you. As a homeschool Momma – I cannot tell you how excited I am to get it!

    Right now I am reading Little Women – I somehow got all the way to adult-hood without reading it before now! What a treasure I missed. I am reading Heidi to my girls right now – it is becoming such a bright spot in our afternoon. We are also finishing up Mr. Popper’s Penguins and My Father’s Dragon for their school time. Sunshine

  5. Lillyput90

    You should definately read “The Lord of the Rings”. It is a very “fall” book. “When autumn came, he knew that part at least of his heart would think more kindly of journeying, as it always did at that season.” Frodo, chapter 3 “Three is Company”. I love reading The Lord of the Rings in the autumn!

  6. Deary,
    My October-ish book list is:
    Wives and Daughters, Elizabeth Gaskell,
    The Night Riders, Ridgwell Cullum,
    The Little Minister, J.M. Barrie,
    (^There’s a Katherine Hepburn movie of that book that I love.)
    Great Singers on Great Singing, Jerome Hines,
    and
    Norton Anthology of Western Music
    (Good ol’ Norton Anthologies 🙂

  7. Sarah

    Oh you all, what superb book lists. I love knowing reading people. Annie- I just came across a reference for “The Little Minister”- you’ll have to tell me if its any good.

    Lillyput90- funny thing; I just finished the Silmarillion and was preparing to start at least the first book of LOTR. It IS perfect autumn reading.

    Sunshine- Little Women for the first time- what delight. You probably catch intimations and beauties that children never see.

    Ashley- I do enjoy Mitford as well. You make me want to read more!

    Sarah- I was just remembering how much I like the “Bronze Bow” since I had to review it recently.

    And yes, to whoever asked- my book comes out between Nov.15 and Dec.1. Hallelujah!

    B.- I’ll look up that book!

  8. I’ve enjoyed all of Madeleine L’Engle’s Crosswick Journals… I always associate her with Annie Dillard. But of course, she has her own style.

  9. Jennifer

    I just picked up a contemporary novel at the library which caught my eye, and was pleasantly pleased. The name of the book, ‘Mr Darcy’s journal’, which is Pride and Prejudice written from Mr Darcy’s perspective. You are ‘reading’ his daily journal, his thoughts- in events prescribed in Pride and Prejudice. Recently written by a novelist in the UK, I found myself thoroughly enjoying this unique perspective of an old classic! She’s also written a ‘Mr Knightley’s journal’ as well, which I have yet to read.

  10. Jeanne-Marie

    Thankyou for your lovely blog, Miss Clarkson!

    I am reading (not fall-ish books but springtime ones, here in the southern hemisphere):

    Yours, Jack – C.S. Lewis

    Surprised by Joy – C.S. Lewis

    Mr. Standfast – John Buchan

    The Healing Power of Love – Floyd McClung

  11. Krista

    Does it have to be seasonally appropriate? If so, I’d recommend Persuasion to accompany your autumnal introspection. I think Charles Williams’s Descent into Hell also has a fall setting. And of course there are Shakespeare’s Sonnets.

    But if the cicadas of summer are not out of place, I would recommend Plato’s Phaedrus. I think both its form and content would appeal to your literary sensibilities. Plato’s dialogues have the dramatic tension of plays and the imagery of high poetry–it is a pity few members of the general public read them for pleasure.

Leave a Reply

