Cantus by Arvo Part

I love having a brother studying music and composition and conducting right in the heart of Boston. It means he gets to hear reams of celestial sounding music and then eventually, I do to. When Joel is home on break, I always end up with a few new composers. One of my favories from this trip is Arvo Part. An Estonian composer, he writes music that is a mixture of sacred and modern classical. I find myself immediately stopped by the strains of his music. This cantus is a world of its own, to hear it is to enter it, even for a brief instant.

Joel said (I couldn’t hope to phrase it more elegantly), “it’s very affecting music. It deeply affects you just to hear it. It’s fearful, in an awe-inspiring sort of way because every note is so charged with meaning.”

I hope you love it as we have.

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “Cantus by Arvo Part

  1. I’m looking forward to hearing it on the laptop. Right now I’m on the computer in the office where the speakers are not working.

    Christopher introduced me to a very strange group but he loves the music. Interesting enough, so does Jayson and my husband.

    http://www.amazon.com/Plays-Metallica-Four-Cellos-Apocalyptica/dp/B000001EMW

Leave a Reply

