Home and sorting…

Home to the sunny windiness (is that a word? it should be) of springtime in the mountains- one day in a black tantrum, the next in spasmodic, ebullient sunshine. I have unpacked. My laundry is NOT finished (nor is it ever really like to be). There are new bits of the world decking my walls. I’ve finished three books (this is my particular form of coping with jetlag) and am hot on the heels of the fourth. These are, in case you are wondering, Mysticism, by Evelyn Underhill, which it has taken me two years to finish, Reading the Classics with C.S. Lewis, also awhile in coming, but entirely satisfying. I now have my own self and C.S. Lewis composed reading list for the next oh, thirty years or so. Finished my first Dorothy Sayers mystery, and found my instinct that it would be great plane reading to be entirely right. And am now hotly pursuing the completion of Wendell Berry’s Standing By Words. Reviews will follow. Someday.

In the windblown aftermath of this journey, I find it far easier to sort pictures than memories – to pick the photos most poignant to my heart, draw out their color, crop them the slightest to bring the essence they embody to the fore. It’s one of those hands on arts that works quietly on my brain, letting an unthinking action allow my thoughts to form. For now, here are a few of those photos, random glimpses of a country which sparked a healthy, and unexpected affection in me. A few of are events and friends. More are just the still-lifes that blinked up at me with particular allurement as we walked a dozen streets/markets/gardens/airports. Hope your springtime days are renewing whatever winter lingers in your heart and garden.

img_0161

There's just something fun about seeing this in existence in the world.

img_0182

He looks like a sage to me.

They call him the little emperor.

They call him the little emperor.

Out of the corner of my eye...

Out of the corner of my eye...

By the river...

By the river...

Guide, host, friend.

Guide, host, friend.

A recurring sight.

A recurring sight.

Amazing hand done lettering - she just color-swished these dragons and sunsets and birds out in front of our eyes. This dimpled assistant kindly displayed the finished product.

Amazing hand done lettering - she just color-swished these dragons and sunsets and birds out in front of our eyes. This dimpled assistant kindly displayed the finished product.

Something ancient and intriguing must be lurking behind that door.

Something ancient and intriguing must be lurking behind that door.

In a Beijing market.

In a Beijing market.

The guy in red was laughing at me as I tried to nonchalantly get him on film. This is in the Empress' Gardens in Beijing.

The guy in red was laughing at me as I tried to nonchalantly get him on film. This is in the Empress' Gardens in Beijing.

Very new and now, very beloved friend, Rossana.

Very new and now, very beloved friend, Rossana.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Home and sorting…

  1. Sarah – Looks like you had a fantastic time in China. Hope to hear some stories from you in future entries. 🙂 I’m heading back there this summer, really looking forward to it. That country is definitely where my passion lies, and I love to hear about other’s experiences with it.

    (this is Patty’s son, of that special family in Maine)

  2. Beautiful!! What a pleasure to pray for you on your journey and to see the beautiful sights as you return home. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Love to see pictures of your trip – so beautiful!

  4. Dillon Naylor

    Hi Sarah,
    In the old days, I would have loved to have you as a “pen-pal.” I know that you have plenty of friends in cyberspace, but if you would like to drop me an email, I would love to share some thoughts/questions/reflections on faith and books with you… no pressure, but your blog is such a comfort and inspiration to me, and I would love to “meet” you on the page. I, like you, was homeschooled…
    Dillon (27 years old)

  5. glad you are back to posting a little here. Missed ya!

  6. Siew Hoong

    The guy in the second picture (the old sage) looks like once of my granduncles!

Leave a Reply

