Glimpses

I can’t even begin to think of how to describe the flood-like rush of emotion, memory, and friendship that has marked this trip. For now, I wanted to say a quick hello from Beijing, our last stop before home. Below are a few of my favorite glimpses of China. This has been a soul-expanding trip. Here’s at least a few of the pictures that fill my mind from our travels. Hope you all at home (even in the general home of the US) are faring well in this springtime month. Sounds like I’ll be arriving to the iffy loveliness of springtime snow. Hope there are some flowers for most of you!

Soup dumpbling nested in soaked ginger. A memorable Shanghai meal. Balancing one between ebony chopsticks, plopping it hurriedly in one's mouth, and then having it burst in tangy mouthful of broth. Well.

Soup dumpling nested in soaked ginger. A memorable Shanghai meal. Balancing one between ebony chopsticks, plopping it hurriedly in one's mouth, and then having it burst in tangy mouthful of broth. Well. That's a taste sensation to remember.

 

The Great Wall.

The Great Wall.

 

We've eaten a LOT of these. Found this wide-eyed lot for sale by the bag full for snacking in a little river side village. You should try some!

We've eaten a LOT of these. Found this wide-eyed lot for sale by the bag full for snacking in a little river side village. You should try some!

 

I love this picture. I just love this picture. In Beijing, shopping for scarves, and there she was. A queen of her corner.

I love this picture. I just love this picture. In Beijing, shopping for scarves, and there she was. Queen of her corner.

 

"The pearl market," our friend said, "that's the one place I want to take you." Oh my. Real pearls, hundreds of strands in the muted luminesence of ocean colors. Everywhere. Stand after stand.

"The pearl market," our friend said, "that's the one place I want to take you." Doesn't it just sound exotic? Oh my. Real pearls, hundreds of strands in the muted luminesence of ocean colors. Everywhere.

 

Behold, our taxi.

Behold, our taxi.

 

And the translator was who?

And the translator was who?

 

In one corner of the gardens of the Summer Palace (created when one strong-willed empress appropriated naval funds to create a garden), this woman hand letters English and Chinese characters. She did each of our names in swiftly stroked letter pictures that turned our names into kissing birds, fiery dragons, and sunsets into

In one corner of the gardens of the Summer Palace (created when one strong-willed empress appropriated naval funds to create a garden), this woman hand letters English and Chinese characters. She transformed the letters of our names into fiery dragons, kissing birds of paradise, and splendidly setting suns. It was joy simply to watch her hands move.

8 Comments

Filed under Travel

8 responses to “Glimpses

  1. pushppravesh

    Snaps R simply awesome.

  2. Simply wonderful to journey with you via photo to such an exciting spot in the world. Spreading seeds of joy and gathering oodles of fabulous memories — a blessing two-fold. : D

  3. Beth M

    Can’t wait for you to publish your China book! Call me when you get back!!

  4. Hey! I LOVE those pictures. You make it look so beautiful there that now I want to go too!
    Congratulations to yall on getting a book published in China! I would never have expected that to happen. 🙂
    God bless you and keep you safe on your journey home,
    ~Harmony~

  5. Andrea M

    My dearest friend!
    I have been trying to keep up with your and your mother’s blogs when I can and I must say that I am thrilled to hear all of the joy, truth, and passion God has brought to thousands of Chinese mother’s through you girls. It literally sends shivers down my back. You are beautiful, Sarah, inside and out, and the way you see the world is beautiful too. I love your pictures, and your elation towards life, and I miss you! I’ll try to write soon so you’ll have a welcome home letter kissed and pressed from me when you get home.
    Keep posting more glimmers from that colorful dynamic place!
    ~Andrea

  6. Sue

    Great photos! I have lived in Japan for nearly 15 years, but have never been to mainland China (just Hong Kong). Thanks for letting me enjoy it vicariously through your pictures.

  7. the photos have only deepened my plan to go!
    safe travels.

  8. What beautiful pictures!! You really have a great artistic eye for sharing the beauty of China with all of us back home here in the US. Seriously, they look like magazine shots. 🙂 I’ve been praying for you all. Praying for safe travels and quick returns to your very own beds and pillows 🙂 Bless you!

Leave a Reply

