Go. Read. Now.

There’s nothing like finishing an engrossing and highly intelligent book on culture from the third story of an old apartment in the arts and culture capital of the states. I read this book and then walked down Park Ave. through a river flow of people, past a parade of museums, and the words of this book were an exhilarating rhythm pounding in every thought and step.

312-vehoppl_sl160_What is culture? There is this rut in my mind into which all my ruminations on “changing culture” get stuck. I tend to perceive “culture” as this nebulous force that dwells in cities, drives moral decisions, and is the arbiter of the arts world. From my tiny perspective the idea of culture can often seem like a thunderstorm stalking the horizon; gigantic, ominous, entirely beyond my control, and sure to catch me in its deluge. So I loved it when Andy Crouch opened his enlightening book by declaring that culture is simply what I as a human, in the company of other humans, make of the world. Literally. Culture is (in Crouch’s example) the making of an omelette, the stewing of chili, the crafting of a house, the jotting of a poem. It is nothing more and nothing less than the meaning and creation that each person on earth brings to their daily world.

With this concise and incredibly clarifying definition of culture (the whole world brought to the level of my doorstep), Crouch goes on to explain that from the beginning of the world, God made us to be involved in the crafting of a culture that reflected every facet of His possible goodness. Crouch covers the many possible “gestures” with which people (specifically Christians) encounter culture (and he does it with charming alliteration): critiquing, condemning, consuming, and copying. Each, he says, is insufficient as a life “posture” to culture and he proposes instead that we posture ourselves as creators (co-creators made in the image of God who create new beauty out of the created world) and cultivators (stewards and protectors of the valuable and worthy culture already in existence). The only way we can change culture, he claims, is by creating new culture.

This book has got my pulse racing and my mind on adrenaline high. I’m a dreamer, I’m constantly feeling dissatisfied with the world, ceaselessly yearning to “change the world”, “take culture by storm”, and here this guy is saying that to do it I need to be a creator. That storming or ideology or head-shaking or the right system isn’t the answer, but instead, new creation. Creating art, music, and literature that pictures redemption. Creating life and encouragement for broken people, creating practical solutions to social problems. I love this current of energetic life, this idea that we ARE made to change culture, but not by some power play or perfectly appointed system. By loving creation. By redemptive action. By tender stewardship of all that is good, beautiful, and true.

Go read this book. Please do. The above is just a smidgen of the excitement you will find in this highly intelligent, but conversationally written book. Crouch surveys God’s activity in culture throughout Scripture, talks about what earthly culture will be present in heaven, and contemplates what it means to live creatively in our time. I usually have a reservation or argument in my head on any given book. I don’t have any on this one. I’m just excited. You should be too.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Go. Read. Now.

  1. Sounds like a really great book that I need to add to my ever expanding and being checked off list… thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

  2. learningtofollow

    Sounds most intriguing, Sarah! I must admit that I immediately have negative (and thus unproductive) thoughts when I hear the word culture. Looks like a book I need to read.

  3. I recently bought that Kathleen Norris book on the clearance table at Barnes & Noble. It is on my “to read later” stack.

    In the book I’m reading as part of my morning quiet time, Holy Habits, she talks a lot about eternity being in our hearts already and we are performing the “holy” when we are about our daily tasks. 🙂

    I loved The Sacred Romance by John Eldredge and the late Brent Curtis. It plays on this theme, too (I know people either love or um… don’t love… Eldredge but personally I like his way of thinking).

    Now, I must look further into this book you are talking about.

  4. Oh, wow. Just the kind of book I’d like to read! I’m off to the library and will be sure to look for it. Thank you so much!

    Blessings,
    -Breezy

  5. Thanks for your review. I must get hold of it. I’ve been mulling over a couple of ideas lately, first is the call for a ‘High Tech Fast’ to prepare for Lent, another is the article entitled ‘The End of Solitude’, in it the author stresses the importance of Solitude for all creative endeavors. Sounds like this book fits right into the whole scheme of how Christians should live in our contemporary society. Keep up with all these ‘renovated posts’, Sarah, I’ve enjoyed them immensely.

  6. Michael Todd

    Sarah, have you seen Andy Crouch’s blog? Here’s the link: http://www.culture-making.com/

  7. Thomas

    Yeah, that’s a fantastic book! There are so many good quotes from it – one of my favorites is when he talks about how nothing significant does not have a long past and take place in a long future. Good encouragement to not despise small beginnings.

    Hope you’re doing well.

    Thomas

  8. Beth M

    Hi Sarah,
    I hadn’t checked your blog in awhile, so had to get caught up. I have to laugh at this entry, because your mom told me about this book, so I ordered it immediately from Amazon, and I’m reading it, but I just wasn’t getting out of it what she said she did. Now that I see your blog, I realize she told me Culture Makers. Fortunately it’s a good book on Biblical worldview (from a Biola grad), but it just wasn’t what I thought it would be. So now I’ve already ordered Culture Making, and look forward to the experience of reading this one instead:)

Leave a Reply

