Happy Sabbath

The long, long night is past, the morning breaks at last,
And hushed the dreadful wail and fury of the blast,
As o’er the golden hills the day advances fast!
The Comforter has come!

Jars of Clay

Now we see as in a mirror dimly, then, face to face…

It probably doesn’t show like I would wish, but I was amazed to see the whole sunset reflected in a pane of my window so that I watched it set against the backdrop of the storm that was actually visible from my red chair. It set my mind to thinking about the realities we see only be reflection now, but someday will experience face to face.

5 Comments

Filed under Contemplations, Quotes

5 responses to “Happy Sabbath

  1. Annie

    You are very sweet, my friend 🙂

  2. Poetry in the simple things of life — it speaks joy to me.

  3. Wow, Sarah. That was really a graceful moment. I keep thinking about the importance of that open window. If your window had been closed, you would only have been able to see the storm from your red chair.

    It makes me wonder how often we miss encouragement or insight or beauty hiding just around the corner because our windows are closed up tight…supposedly protecting us from some potential storm.

    Thanks for sharing that thought-provoking photo and message!

  4. How beautiful – thank you for sharing! I haven’t commented before, but wanted to stop by and thank you for this! 🙂 The picture is lovely … the reality must have been awesome!

  5. Jo

    Sarah dear… where have you run off to?? Most likely to some beautiful, inspiring place… well no matter – just write us something wonderful when you return! 😉 Your readers are rather hungry. 😉

Leave a Reply

