The eternal town

Savior and friend,
How wonderful art Thou!
My companion upon the changeful way,
The comforter of its weariness,
My guide to the eternal town,
The welcome at its gate.
-Alister Maclean

Well, last night my uncle Bob was welcomed into the eternal town after a hard struggle with leukemia. That Celtic prayer says everything I love about God and his presence with us, even in death. I love to think of the heart and soul of my uncle as being companioned, tenderly held through the last days of his life, shepherded into the goodness, the long-hoped for grace of heaven. It’s been said many times, but he really is at peace… in peace… peace has remade and renewed him and I am so glad for the surety of that grace.
We leave tomorrow morning at five to drive down to Texas for the funeral. My heart hurts for my cousins. Would you all pray for Brax, Rob and Meredith as they mourn their dad? Thanks. Grace to you all.

A verse I’m packing for the road:

The steps of a man are established by the Lord,
And he delights in his way.
When he falls, he will not be hurled headlong
Because the Lord is the one who holds his hand.
I have been young, and now I am old,
But I have never
(never, never!) seen the righteous forsaken
(Psalm 37:23-25)

5 Comments

Filed under Contemplations

5 responses to “The eternal town

  1. Hi Sarah 🙂
    I am so sorry. It is a joy to read that your uncle knew the Father. I will be praying for you and with you for your cousins and the rest of the family. Love to you, Q

  2. geektechnique

    Sarah,

    Very sorry to hear about your loss, but pleased to know that your uncle is at Peace. I had heard your uncle was ill, your other uncle Mr. Bone I believe, goes to my church here in Canton. Several people there were praying for him and you can count me among the people who will be praying for the family. What a glorious and yet personal thought “The Eternal Town”. It is good to know that your uncle is free from his weariness and has the peace found in the place where peace resides.

    ryan

  3. Sarah, what a beautiful expression of faith in the midst of sorrow. Blessings and peace to you and your family.

  4. …God’s comfort for you all as you travel and gather.

  5. As I told your mom on her blog, I will keep you all in prayer! Even when one is expected to pass soon, it can still be difficult when that life is torn from this world. We feel the pain but those who walk with Christ are rejoicing on the other side.

    I just found out this morning that my son-in-law’s grandmother passed away yesterday. It is good to know she can now get a deep breath without the agony her body was going through.

    Praying!

Leave a Reply

