Church Shootings

Update
The other three people shot were from the same family; a dad and his two daughters. Both of the girls have died. I can’t even imagine the pain in their hearts right now. Thank you all so much for praying!

If you have watched the news today, you have probably heard about the shootings at our church, New Life, here in Colorado Springs. We are all okay. We left the church just a few minutes before the gunman came. From what we understand, he entered through the cafeteria and went down the halls with an assault rifle. We have heard that four people were shot and have survived. I have heard that there might have been a teenager hit; I just found out that one of our good friends was shot as well. She was in the car with her husband and little girl and was shot through the window when the gunman came up to their car. She was the only one hit in the car and has a shoulder wound. She is at the hospital and is going to be okay. At such close range, with such a weapon, it is incredible that no one else was hurt or killed.

I just ask that you all would pray for us and for the church here. Please pray for our sweet friend who has served countless families in the church and for her daughter after having seen that happen to her mom and for the rest of the family. For the families who don’t yet know if their loved one will survive. Please pray for our pastor Brady who just moved here a couple of months ago and has barely even settled. And also for the YWAM base and families a little to the north of us, where two kids were killed. Lord be with us all, this is a hard day for a lot of people. God is present here; there is so much life and goodness at New Life, it is a place deeply committed to God, the people here are so full of His love. I am confident that the church will respond to this with grace and strength.

Immanuel, God with us, takes on a whole new meaning tonight.

Thanks for praying.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Church Shootings

  1. Silvana

    Sarah,

    I am so grateful that you and your family are ok. When I first heard the story, I thought of you immediately and wondered if it was the church you and your family attended. I will be praying for your friend and of course the whole church. Blessings to your from CT.

  2. Sarah: It affected me a bit as I learned about the incident on the news. But it hit me harder as I read your blog because it happened to someone I know (from blogging…just the same). My heart goes out to you all. My son had a rewarding experience a few years back with YWAM, so this really hit home. But no matter what, I trust that God is sovereign and He can sustain and heal.

  3. Jo

    You all will certainly be lifted up in my prayers.

  4. Our family is praying for you and your family and loved ones!!

  5. Hi Sarah-

    I was wondering if you all were affected by the shootings. I didn’t realize it was your church. What a mess. I’ll be praying for you all. We have someone from our church with YWAM right now so it definitely hit close to home.

Leave a Reply

