My Irish Prayer

May you treasure wisely this jeweled, gilded time,
And cherish each day as an extra grace,
Whose heedless waste would be a tragic crime,
In today’s tasks may you find God’s tender face,
May you know that to miss love’s smallest chance,
Is a lost opportunity, a senseless waste.
May you see need in every anxious glance,
May you sort out of the dull and commonplace,
An invitation to God’s merry, manic dance,
And may the Lord of the Dance bless you,
As He invites you to the dance of the hallowed present,
Father, Son and Holy Spirit.
Amen.

(An Irish blessing by Father Andrew Greeley)

The merry, manic dance; oh Lord, here I come! I found this prayer in an old book about the Irish people. It sticks with me yet. I remember reading the author’s claim that when surveyed, the Irish were more likely to identify God as Father than almost any other people group. His conclusion was that because of that belief, that ultimate reality was loving and tender toward them, the Irish possessed a gladness, a culture of celebration that marks their music and prayers and lives. I like that thought. We should all be like that. Living as if our days were feasts spread out by a God who loves us. So, here from the hallowed present, I wish you a dancing sort of day.

6 Comments

Filed under Poetry

6 responses to “My Irish Prayer

  1. How wonderful, Sarah! Wishing you a dancing day, too, heart, smile, eyes and feet – all. Love, Q

  2. Rachel

    Hello Sarah! I’ve never commented before but I very much enjoy reading your blog. Your writings are beautiful and encouraging. God bless, Rachel

  3. Debbie from MI

    Sarah, it has been a while since I left you a comment but I want you to know that you are always such an inspiration. You have helped me to see and appreciate the beauty all around.

    My husband has Lupus and he was in the hospital about a month ago. Sometimes I felt very alone. I spent a lot of time praying and reading the word which brought me much comfort. Your blog was a source of encouragement to me. Your beautiful words took me out of the hospital and to a place of peace and comfort.

    Thank you for encouraging me in the Lord.

    God bless you.

    Debbie

  4. Sarah, I’ve happily stumbled across your inspiring blog, and am wondering where you found your header. Is there a website that offers free headers of classical art? Ah, beautiful poem indeed… makes you want to venture out into the world and revel in the freedom of Christ and share your joy with others!

    Jo

  5. Beth

    Hi Sarah, I’ve re-found your blog, and am so blessed by it! You should be writing books galore, you express your thoughts and relate common struggles, victories & feelings! It’s a feast reading your blog. I can just tell it fills your soul to write them, and ours to read them.

  6. Debbie in CA : )

    Hi Sarah, Just finished Pilgrims Inn and LOVED IT! As a family we are wending our way to the end of Brink’s The Winter Cottage — a wonderful fireside read. Thank you for your prime recommendations. Many of your favorites have been added to my list … an ever-growing list. So much good stuff waiting in the basket to be read. : )

Leave a Reply

