Ocean day

Well, I have a long weaving of thoughts about oceans and God’s love to tap out at some point, but today is the last day out in sunny CA so we’re off to a little breakfast cafe in Laguna Beach for some writing. We had a day of rest yesterday, a day of quiet and it was a gift. I will write more soon, but for now, hello and have a lovely, sunny autumn day!

A sunny bit of a quote from my much admired G.K. Chesterton:

If I can put one touch of rosy sunset into the life of any man or woman, I shall feel that I have worked with God. 

1 Comment

Filed under Quotes

One response to “Ocean day

  1. Debbie in CA : )

    Ah … Let us celebrate together the gift of a day of rest. : ) Yesterday, I too relaxed and polished off book two in the trilogy of The Hawk and The Dove. I adore this book and the precious characters! As I was tucked under a comfy quilt on the sofa with book in hand, I winked at my husband and inquired whether I could enjoy another day of rest on Monday. He returned my smile and said, “For part of the day.” I hope to get all the “needs” for today attended to so as to find a wedge of free time near the 4 o’clock hour — ahhhh, for a cuppa and another chapter or two. I must admit I would not naturally have approached this book but have found it to be a delight. Thank you for recommending it. I have The Pilgrim’s Inn at the top of the heap and am searching my archived boxes of PBs for a copy of The Dean’s Watch that a friend sent me years ago. Though at the time I was snowed under diapers and such and never found the time to actually read it, I didn’t pass it along in the hopes that I would someday find the time. You have reminded me of that gem hiding in my garage.

    Breathe deep the salty tang of the ocean and fill your memory satchel to overflowing before you return to the mountain peaks. Nothing inspires me like the seaside. We moved from the seashore to the Sierras seven years ago; I love the mountains, but I still miss the salty sea air. Next week we are packing up for a week-long sojourn to our favorite No. Cal beach. I will relax and replenish my satchel with a week’s worth of crashing waves and tangy mists. Aaaahhhh … such joy!

Leave a Reply

